» Our Towns

RoxBurgh AREA - Our Towns

The Teviot Valley is a ribbon district that runs either side of State Highway 8. Its main town and retail hub is at Roxburgh. Other communities within the Teviot Valley include Lake Roxburgh Village, Ettrick and Millers Flat.

Getting Here

Roxburgh and the surrounding towns are located thirty minutes south of Alexandra, less than two hours west of Dunedin and two hours north of Invercargill.

Ettrick Lake Roxburgh Village
Ettrick lies at the southern end of the beautiful Teviot Valley, 10 minutes south of Roxburgh. Founded by Scottish settlers during the gold rush in the 1860s this small township is named after Ettrick Valley in Scotland. It is one of the first places in New Zealand where settlers grew apples.

Lake Roxburgh Village offers an insight into the building of one of New Zealand’s important hydro dams. It is also a stepping off point for exploring Lake Roxburgh. The lake is ideal for water sports and well stocked with both brown and rainbow trout. The Village has quality accommodation and dining.

Enjoy the charm of each special discovery at Millers Flat which is located at the southern end of the Teviot Valley south of Roxburgh. Visit Horseshoe Bend and walk to the only suspension bridge remaining across the Clutha River. Encounter the Lonely Graves or plan a visit to the popular Millers Flat rodeo.

Roxburgh is a stunningly beautiful fruit growing hub and recreational paradise 30 minutes south of Alexandra in the Teviot Valley. It is flanked by rocky, tussock-clad high country and nestled on the mighty Clutha River. The valley always looks spectacular whether in full spring blossom or blanketed in autumn’s golden and red hues.


 Roxburgh Area
» Roxburgh Area
» Our Towns
» History
» Things to Do
» Activities
» Accommodation
» Wining and Dining
» Our Community
site maplegal information | login
evoSuite Tourism Marketing Software | Crafted with love by SquareCircle